Franciscan Missions

In Sierra Gorda there are five majestic Franciscan missions, built between 1750 and 1760. You cannot pass the area without knowing at least one of these 5 temples declared a World Heritage Site by Unesco in 2003.

Santiago de Jalpan

The first to be built.

Calle Independencia, Centro.
Jalpan de Serra.

San Miguel Concá

It is the smallest of the five missions.

Carretera del Río - Xilitla, Centro.
Arroyo Seco.

Santa María del Agua de Landa

Temple dedicated to the Virgin of the Immaculate Conception.

Calle San Esteban, Centro.
Landa de Matamoros.

San Francisco del Valle de Tilaco

Its facade is the smallest of the five missions.

Centro de Tilaco.
Landa de Matamoros.

Nuestra Señora de la Luz de Tancoyol

Its elaborate facade stands out.

Centro de Tancoyol.
Jalpan de Serra